An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Delectable Decay...

It's only since I started blipping that I fully appreciate the beauty of tulips past their best. In fact I would go as far as to say that I think I actually prefer them in all their decaying glory than in the first flush of freshness. Oh if only society saw women in the same light, I'd be a goddess :-)) Stop laughing at the back!

I found these beauties in our dining room this morning. Obviously not a room I go into often but I was glad I had reason to today as the tulips have provided a blip on an otherwise blip-less day.

Got a phone call from a friend this morning who's 16 year old son has cerebral palsy. She's moving him to a different school in August as his current school is a fecking nightmare is no longer suitable.

Sounds straight forward but there's been lots of problems getting the move approved the usual petty politics within the education dept as well as her son's view that although he hates his current school (to the point of refusing to go and threatening all sorts of self harm) he'd rather stick with the devil he knows.

She'd got herself into such a state about it all she just couldn't think straight. She was completely stuck over what steps to take next.

We talked it through for a while, had a moan, shared some experiences, had a laugh at the absurdity of the situation and by the end of our conversation she seemed to have got it back into perspective and, more importantly, had come up with a plan of action.

Once again I was struck by how true it is that a problem shared is a problem halved. And how, for the first time since leaving my job as Family Support Worker almost two years ago, I actually missed it!

Not enough to do it again though ;-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.