The Secretary

I've just paused to look at today's file name: 100101_secretary.jpg

The secretary seemed unwilling to show me around, turned her back to me and wandered off ;-)

Yep, a new year. I didn't see it in as my eye lids were drooping long before midnight. I stayed in and went to bed. It paid off as I was up early and headed out to make the most of a stunning day. Plan B on Banks Peninsula won over plan A inland. It's stinking hot and inland will at best be windy-as, if not bucketing down.

S was still on call so I headed off on my own and had a ball. What a stunning country I live in. 1/2 hour from home I can be heading up a track listening to bird song. I just wanted 3 - 4 hours action to avoid the worst of the heat. Afternoons are relentless in the open on days like this.

On the down side my lower legs are wrapped in dock leaves. Yep, I'm nursing nettle stings. You'd think I would have learned on my way up wouldn't you? Apparently not as I forgot and encountered the same clump on the way down. But that's the only blight on an otherwise perfect day.

I don't think the dock leaves are doing a lot of good. Neither did the freshly cut aloe vera but the cider I'm drinking is helping ;-)

At this rate I'll be too chilled to attack the lichen on the out side of the fence with something toxic but effective.

Have a wonderful start to your 2010

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.