Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The next generation

Tomorrow Helen will bring Mollie (8) and Eleanor (3) to see us. Mollie is learning to play the flute, so in readiness for the visit I have been dusting the cobwebs* from my own flute. It's a beautiful Altus silver flute. Before I joined Blip I was a very keen amateur flautist and played a lot of chamber music, mainly in a wind quintet.

For reasons I'll not go into here, I had a break from playing for a few months that extended into years. It felt very strange to have the flute sitting comfortably in my hands again and to find that I could produce a good range of notes.

Today I shopped early and was then so tired that I slept the afternoon away. It's been a very busy and emotionally draining week. Sleep is a wonderful restorative.

*The Cobweb Orchestra is a wonderful organisation that encourages adults to dust the cobwebs from their instruments and make music together. Anyone, whatever instrument and whatever standard may join in. Funnily enough it you go to their website you can see a partial photo of an orchestra playing in my garden and I'm conducting it! (Wonderful view of my rear!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.