Sunrise

It was a lot colder than it looks.

By 7am I had this bloke and a Rainbow Trout salted and on the first stage of curing for smoking. Thanks to the fisher/hunter he filleted the big salmon. We decided to get the smoking done before it was forgotten in the freezer.

All good to do it's thing while I went up a steep hill, down, up again and down. No off road. I don't have time to deal with muddy boots. A slightly grumpy foot but it's good grumpy (there is a difference, truly!).

Beautiful, crisp and clear

Back home I washed my salmon and trout, patted it dry, brushed on melted Manuka Honey and gently rubbed in brown sugar. Then it sat a little longer before the smoking begun.

I soon had a little routine going between the smoker, kitchen and lounge where I was packing. I timed it well, the morning was soon warm and I was finished before the wind blew.

One day I might blip the different stages of smoking. It's in the 'good things take time' category.

We sampled freshly smoked salmon with sour dough and coleslaw. It got the thumbs up :-)

Then more pack, pack, pack.

I've made a decent dent in my packing this weekend. I'm pretty pleased about that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.