Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The highest waterfall in Northumberland

Welcome to Crammel Linn on the Irthing River. It's not often visited because it's location is quite remote, although the walk from the road is only about half a mile. It felt a lot further with my heavy camera pack and my tripod. The hillside is quite badly eroded so it took me ages to climb down safely and then back up again.

It was worth it. There is a lot of water in at the moment and the water is quite orange due to the iron deposits in the river bed. After much deliberation, I opted for this mono image because the greens and orange verged on the garish. Best seen large.

Here is a more standard colour version.

Three years ago I was there and saw a local rite of passage taking place.

It's been a sad day because our lovely walking friend, Pam, has died. This was expected and in many ways a relief because she could not go on any longer. Her husband has done a marvellous job of caring for her at home.

I also visited Gowk Bank where the heath spotted orchids and the globe flowers are coming out. Very wet there but always a delight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.