Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Queen Anne's Lace

Do you ever have a clear idea of the image you want to produce, but have difficulty producing it? The roadsides and lanes have been white with cow parsley for over a fortnight. The hawthorn trees have been in full bloom. I wanted an image to show just how frothy and gorgeous the blossom has been. I also did not want to use a tarmac road.

This afternoon I set out by car for Birtley near Wark. We walked there last week and I saw a lane I wanted to photograph. Despite choosing tiny lanes with gates today, I did not see just what I wanted. The land was lush and the sheep and cows were happily grazing, so it was a pleasant drive.

The main road between Bellingham and Wark was closed due to a serious motor cycle accident, so I had to go on more tiny roads to get home, thinking about the families who will have bad news to face today. Then I was more than irritated with the motor bike riders who were determined to overtake me on the single track road.

I stopped my car at the entrance to our village and took this photo on the lane to Lincoln Hill. It's not the image in my head, but I like it. Sometimes you don't have to go far from home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.