Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Eskdale Wagtail

perched
on a post
eskdale wagtail


We had a couple of hours of fine weather at the beginning of the day, so I popped out to further explore the immediate vicinity before the days official excursions began.

There are always Pied Wagtails about when we visit Eskdale and this one was perched in a field over the road. A bird in its place.

Just before the rain started we started a walk to Stanley Force, a forty foot waterfall deep in Stanley Ghyll, a place I walked to a few times in my own childhood. The rain soon joined us, but of course rain enhances waterfalls.

For a dry activity we then headed an hour north to Maryport for the Clip 'n Climb experience. While the rest of the family enjoyed that I explored the harbour and got a brief glimpse of the town. If the weather had been fine I would have been able to see Small Blue butterflies here, I found the patches of Kidney Vetch on the south side of the harbour, but the butterflies were hidden away somewhere. A ghost sign in the town was a nice find though.

Hopefully not so soggy for our last full day tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.