A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Midsummer madness

This morning I went on a Hare hunt and yes I do know that this a RABBIT!

The madness was I was up at 4.20am; out of the house at 4.30am and on Bents Lane before 5.00am.  (Probably woke by the paranoid Blackbird that has been our alarm at this time the last few days when the bedroom window has been open!)

I only saw one vehicle and it was a taxi.

The last time I did this was two years ago and on that occasion I spotted 7 hares. Would I be lucky today? It is the best time to go as the grass has just been mown and therefore they are more exposed.

I saw one in a field on the left soon after I turned into  the lane and then a pair further on in a field on the left where I saw them before. Returning I saw another pair (one of which may have been may earlier spotting)  but as I watched them another shot across the field to the left. 5 in all! I did see another heading into the long grass on the other side of the field so this may have been number 6! When I went through my pictures I saw some ears sticking out of the newly mown grass in one field where I hadn't looked too close. So that could be my 7!

It doesn't actually matter how many I saw I was just thrilled to see them.

So why aren't they my blip? Well even with my telephoto lens they were along way off. The super telephoto on my compact may have got in closer but I find it really hard to find things in the distance without the use of the view finder (maybe try it next time). So on my way home, literally through a gate on the main road, I spotted this bunny.

It didn't run off but sat happily munching its greens!

I really enjoyed my early morning hunt and would recommend it even if you only manage it once every two years. ( Must try this in Scotland - maybe I will one day see that otter)

If you want to see hares (or if your not convinced) you can look here but you might need your magnifying glass!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.