An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The Dupplin Cross...

Backblip

Taking some time off from my life of Reilly the daily grind over the next two days to spend some quality time with my Blip Pal Peter (aka Sleepyhead)

Alan headed off out for the day with Ed so when Peter arrived, I wasted no time and dragged him straight to the local Deli cafe for lunch. Priorities.

After stuffing ourselves with some delicious food (and scones and Victoria sponge to finish :D))) we stepped into the afternoon sunshine....and it was VERY sunny, yippee... into my new car (I'm still getting to grips with it as poor Peter can testify. He was hanging onto the passenger door handle a little too tightly ;-)) and we headed to an interesting Perthshire landmark, where we stopped to take some photographs, before heading to Dunning and St Serf's Church. I've been meaning to visit this little church for quite a while and I wasn't disappointed.

I parked the car and we headed to the little graveyard that surrounds the church and as we approached the entrance, I was surprised to see a Historic Scotland Guide on hand to take us into the Church and explain all about it and the real treasure inside that brings visitors from across the globe.....the Dupplin Cross. (The stained glass windows are also something to behold).

Peter and I got a very detailed and informative talk all about the cross and the church and although unexpected, it was very welcome and brought a bit of life to the history. The coolness inside the church was also a welcome relief from the heat outside.

Garry (the Guide) told us 19 people had visited the Church before us today and we were the first Scots. While we were chatting to him a man came into the Church and he was from Texas. It makes me feel quite proud that this wee Church and the Dupplin Cross attract such global interest.

The graveyard is also fascinating with graves stretching back to 1600 and probably before. It was too hot to explore though. I will save that for a cooler, moodier, cloudy day :)

So it was back to the house, a cool beer for Peter and dinner for Alan. We had our dinner when D got home and spent a very pleasant evening catching up. A good day :D


Info on St Serf's Church and the Dupplin Cross HERE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.