Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Higham/Wimbledon and the Spanish Connection

I took Mum and our friend, Jenny, over to Higham Hall in the Lake District this morning. Higham is an independently run, adult education college set in beautiful countryside near to Bassenthwaite Lake. They have gone on a 3 day painting course. This is the class view from the front door. I like the brooding clouds.

I enjoyed a lovely lunch before leaving. Then a quick visit to John Gravett at Lakeland Photo Holidays in Braithwaite to see if he had the bit of kit I need to use to convert my Manfrotto geared joint for use with an Arca plate. No joy, but I heard that Mongolia is on the programme for next year.

Home to watch the recorded Wimbleon final. I so wanted Federer to win, but I could see that Djokovic was the better player on the day. After 4 sets I had to stop watching to go to Liz and Nick's for dinner.

Our mutual friend, Fran, is a Spaniard who is earning his living by waiting on tables at the local hotel. His parents have come for their first visit to the UK. We had a wonderful evening with Spanish and English being spoken, usually simultaneously. Fran's Dad is devoted to English but has never had the chance to try speaking it with English people. He did wonderfully well but we had a lot of laughs too.

Home to watch the fifth set and at 2345 I finally knew who won.

What a day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.