TUITION NEEDED - ANY OFFERS?

Having cleared away the rubbish, this morning Mr. HCB is out in the blazing sun trying to sort out the bottom of the fence because our neighbours' land is much higher than ours - I have plied him with numerous cold drinks but I don't think it will be long before he comes in, otherwise he may just keel over.

I am keeping a close eye on him but as I walked around the garden, I spotted these two Dianthus. They were almost touching the ground, so I cut them and brought them indoors.

I decided to "play around" with the "not-so-new" Canon and thought I would try some close-up photography. I don't usually bring flowers in from the garden, because I prefer to see them in their natural setting, but this was an ideal opportunity.

I set the camera on automatic, as usual, but realise I need to stop using just that so also tried aperture priority, shutter priority and manual but wasn't really sure what I was doing - what I really need is someone who can explain to me in words of one syllable what each setting does. I appreciate that "trial and error" sometimes works, but I would like to know more about each of the settings on the camera. I know I can read the manual, which I have printed off and watch videos on Youtube but it's not quite the same as having someone by your side to explain the "how" and "why" of something.

So - any offers of help will be considered - and I don't mind travelling!!

What really annoys me is that I am the person who held down a responsible job for years, can type very fast and can cook reasonably well, but I just cannot get into my head all these F numbers and other camera associated things and I do tend to beat myself up because I "don't get it" and think I am a failure in this field, which is why I end up using my iPhone and leaving the Canon at home!

I found two quotes that spoke to me today:

“Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst.”
Henri Cartier-Bresson 1908-2004.


and

“With ordinary talent and extraordinary perseverance,
all things are attainable”
Thomas Fowell Buxton 1786-1845


I better keep going then although I think I have taken rather more than 10,000 photographs over the years!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.