Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

More amazing furniture

I spent part of this morning amongst Ian's current collection of four posters and other furniture. This man is a true enthusiast.

I was there to take photographs of a chair he has acquired and this bed, which is from a large suite of furniture that was in an apartment used used by Edward and Mrs Simpson. Chairs and other furniture from this collection at in Windsor Palace. (It is not know whether they slept together in this bed.)

I'm on a steep learning curve for this sort of photography. Here I was hand held and just doing a test shot for the next set up. Ian is moving the bed - you can see the effort he was putting in! The actual images for his website are all shot at 100 ISO and on the tripod. The light isn't great in the old chapel but I was glad of the cloudy day to lessen any blown highlights. I have to line things up to prevent distortion of the proportions of the furniture.

I like the grain in the footboard and the ornate headboard. Most of us will not have a big enough room to house this sort of furniture. The bed is (unusually) 6 feet wide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.