Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A route less travelled

I was sure that I would show you a landscape photograph today. I was doing a recci for next Wednesday's walk. I devised the route weeks ago, but today was my first chance to try it out.

I started north of West Hall, a tiny hamlet west of Gilsland and walked a loop that took in Rinnion Hills (used to be Ninian Hills after the saint), Parkgate Cottages (where the gate was tied up with barbed wire so I had to climb it), through Askerton Park Estate, over Tower Brae (where the views were 360 degrees and wonderful) and back by Spaedadam Farm and Desoglin. (11.5 miles)

It was very hot indeed and I made slow progress through long grass and over rough moorland. It was a delight. I had no deadline - I phoned home and Mum made the evening meal.

When I arrived back in West Hall I stopped to chat to the undertaker, his wife and his assistant. They were having a beer in the shade after persuading the donkeys to go to their stables for the evening. Why there is an undertaker in West Hall is a mystery.

They gave me a beer and we had a chat. The other image I might have blipped, common cotton grass was also blipped pipped at the post because these folk were so kind.

The farmer at Rinnion Hills and the undertaker & co all know my friend Harry Kay so tales about him were told. (That will have you worried Harry!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.