Crazy!

What a great day I've had again today! My lovely sister bought me a BBC tour for my birthday in April and I'd booked it for today. I met up with Chrissie at Media City and we joined our group. Fortunately, as most of the schools have only just broken up there were only two children on the tour. As Chrissie said...they were all old giffers...and we were the only two taking pics so we didn't have to fight for shots or places we wanted to pose.

We went into the radio studio where Craig Charles does his show first. It is amazing to see all the technical thingummybobs...I believe that is the correct term...and hear little anecdotes about people. The BBC Philharmonic is based at the Quays and we went into their studio next. The acoustics is amazing in there, the guide walked off with her back to us and carried on talking and there was no difference to the volume of her voice.

It was the mock up BBC Breakfast show next and a few people had a go at reading the news and doing the weather. I volunteered to go on the Question of Sport panel....we chose a number and had to identify sports personalities and I actually got a few right. After we'd had a play we went into the real Breakfast studio just as Roger Johnson had finished the midday news, sadly we didn't see him though. The girls who took the tour were great and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.

We then went to Prezzo and sat outside for lunch. It was bakingly hot and we couldn't rest our arms on the table as it burnt us. The food was gorgeous...I had a crab cake salad, yummy! Then we wandered off to work it off.

There were lots of young lads jumping off the Detroit Bridge and we decided to try and get an action shot. Then a man suddenly appeared with a ladder and another one shot up it onto a bar above the decking. He then crawled along girders and up onto the top of the bridge. Unbelievably, he then plunged into the water. It was quite shocking to watch really as it was so high and the water isn't really deep enough for such a high dive. He was lucky not to injure himself.

I've just been to the writing group at the Marriott, only Janice and I turned up but we sat outside in the Quad with a drink and it was all very pleasant. All in all it has been a toptastic day.

Thanks Sis :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.