occhi verdi

By occhiverdi

Caballeros y Caballos

Day 7

Meet Joel, Tomás, and Mario. Our cowboys for the morning. My favorite was Joel. Sorry amigos. And I forgot to ask what Joel's horse's name was..
I've said it before and I'll say it again... I went swimming bareback on a horse this morning. What in the world did you ever do? Not jackshit probably.

What a great morning. Whilst on horseback on the trail, we came across a puma, a javelina, and a deer. Tomás, out in front, was ready to abandon us when the javelina was rustling around in the brush. Before that I missed seeing the puma, but my aunt Rhonda saw it..
I miss riding horses.. there's just something so natural and liberating about being on horseback. I loved it as a little girl. I remember getting bucked off time after time and getting right back on. I've always liked riding horses that were a little wild. Maybe that's why Reuben lets me ride his horses that he hasn't ridden in a while. Speaking of.. I need to give him a call while I'm still living in southeast Texas. (two months left..)
After we rode for about an hour, the guys let us run the horses for a bit - I am always willing to do more of that. Then they took the saddles off and we got to ride the horses bareback into the water so the horses could swim with us on their backs.
Apparently Rhonda is the only one who's ever been able to get her horse, Rosie, to swim a little. My horse, Dino (Dino? Deno? I don't know how to spell in Spanish... having never taken a class) was a great swimmer. We bought their cd of photos since I left my camera behind, so I'll try to post some of those to facebook or something before my five days of editing are up. (done and done. check the link.)

I was very tempted to go riding again tomorrow before we leave.. but Rhonda talked me out of it since we have to check out by noon. Joel did say he'd take me on the super VIP trail .... whatever that means. Wink.

We went on the zip line afterwards.. and it was just completely non-entertaining compared to the horses. What can I say? If you've done one zip line, you've done them all. I'll definitely be going back to see these caballeros next time we're in Cancun.
Thanks for going with me today, Rhonda (& Morgan).

Last night in Mexico. I'm still as burnt as a crème brulée. Hoping that we will be back before I start my master's program in May. What are the odds?

Mexico Blips
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.