Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The last leaves on the tree?

All the leaves are brown and the sky is grey.
I've been for a walk on a winter's day.
I'd be unsafe but warm if I was in S.A.;
Durban dreamin' on such a winter's day

Though to be honest it would not feel like Christmas if it was hot and summery - all those years of celebrating Christmas around the swimming pool with a turkey in the BBQ seem strange to me now. I grew up in Durban and Christmas Day was often spent on the beach or around the pool getting sunburnt....nothing like a bracing walk on a crisp, cold day after eating all that Christmas food, enjoying Christmas TV shows and being warm and cosy indoors.

Book Club tonight - our chosen book was The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy by Rachel Joyce, which I really enjoyed. I then read the new Ian McEwan book, The Children's Act which I did not enjoy as much as I thought I would.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.