True love

I had a guy asking me the other day if I was replacing the desire to have children with my dog and cat. He was being highly judgmental of the fact that I call Cousteau, 'my wee man' and 'my angel boy'. He said that he hates how people do that, pour all their love into an animal and have none left for children.

The truth is, I'd truly love to be a wife and mother. They're at the top of my wishlist. I just haven't found the right man yet but I know that it will happen one day. It has to be the right man though. I've had plenty of offers from the wrong ones, but they've fallen over for one reason or another.

It doesn't stop my wee man from being a huge part of my life though.

The day I brought him home in my arms (he was a lot smaller then) and delighted at each sniff and each crazy race to the back door for toileting, I whispered in his big floppy ear that I would keep him safe. That I would do the worrying for us both. I want him to have a happy life. To return some of the joy he gives to me.

I know that dogs are here for a good time, not a long time, and so we are going to capitalise on every golden moment we can share.

So yes, my angel boy is just that. I have vowed to keep him safe, warm, fed, exercised and most importantly loved.

He is a dog but he is my friend and companion and he is a gentleman to boot.

Free-wheelin' to the weekend and two weeks of school holidays!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.