My Angle

By myangle

Concrete

Because I work nights I am almost always asleep at daybreak and at sundown I am tucked away in the back of the prepress room, which has no windows. My photographic options usually fall between 10am and 2pm, the worst time of day for attractive lighting. This has been a source of great frustration for me recently. I look at a potential photo and know it would have a lot more impact if I shot it at either end of the day rather than smack bang in the middle.

So now I am trying to think outside the square. To use some of those creative juices Northern insists I possess (she might be right too). This photo is what I came up with! A hastily shot part of a concrete highway overpass. Well, as you can see, I can only improve from here!

What I need is an angle. My Angle.

Something that readily identifies a photo as being one of something and mine I like to shoot. Some blippers can be identified because of their location (Chaos- Scintilla), or because of a regular recurring subject (Benek). Others take beautiful landscapes, sunrises and sunsets (Kiwidino and A Canturbury Tail). Portraits (Kamran and Goodbye). I wish I could confidently walk up to strangers and ask to take their photo! There are blippers who are in my opinion exceedingly talented (Treegonk and Somethings Missing), or there are the blips, which I find interesting to read (Northern and Dublinshooter).

Finally and most important to me are the people who regularly make comments on my efforts. I won't mention names because I will miss someone out. I don't usually make too many comments myself. I do however like to read other peoples explanations, blurbs or rants, which go with their photos. I am currently convinced that everyone else leads pretty exciting lives or live somewhere beautiful.

Now I need to sit and think of an angle for myself. At the moment I am flatlining inspiration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.