Trudge

I had a hankering for a signature street blip today. Combined with a few errands I anticipated hanging around one of my favourite haunts and seeing what I could spot. But I arrived at the same time of as the southerly squall.

This was the only street blip I took (too cold and wet) and luckily I like it :-) I also like the bed of poppies I crouched behind. I might return tomorrow for a poppy shot.

In the left background you can just make out fencing extending out into High St from the buildings. This is typical of Christchurch post-qauke. The last 4 or 5 premises on the left end of the block are coded red (red stickers on the door designate dangerous and not to be entered). It will either be demolished or, with substantial work it might be fixable.

The rest of the block is ok and in normal use (green stickers on the door). The second floor of this part was turned into apartments several years ago and the building code required earthquake strengthening and hence survived.

I also enjoyed a coffee at one of my favourite cafes, Mitchellis, just around the corner in Poplar Lane. They were closed for a couple of weeks while the exterior was checked out but they're ok. When they developed their old brick building into a cafe they put in a mezzanine floor which doubled at earthquake strengthening. They were fully insured so a good outcome for them. Nice to see an old brick building intact.

Time to make my 'Nina bread'. Yum :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.