Eternal Rest Grant To Them Oh Lord

And may perpetual light shine upon them
May they rest in peace.
Amen


Today is all about those who lost their lives and their loved ones who will miss them most.

We'll all grieve Christchurch's loss.


Today, we were shaken to the core
A big one first, then more and more
When I woke up to a drizzly day
I never thought it would end this way

Whirlpools of mud
Countless tears and blood
Sixty-five dead, 'at least', they said
The sadness and the sense of dread

Flights confined to the ground
And chaos reigns all around
The CBD a rubbly mess
The victims' souls may our Lord bless

And here, where I live, quiet and peace
Apart from Caltex, where the queues don't cease
The people panic buy food and gas
Not knowing how long they must make it last

And tonight when I lay me down to sleep
I'll hear the cries of those who weep
For all the souls who are now free
And our city, brought down on bended knee


I have just spoken to HPX. She is unable to blip this evening but wanted me to let you all know that she is out of town and is fine.

A friend of hers is one of the missing in the CTV building. Tonight, we are praying for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.