Reflection and Learning

Today has been a weird one. It's Ash Wednesday (the start of Lent) as well as the year anniversary of the Christchurch Earthquake.

It's a time of reflection for so many. I am no exception.

My prayers and thoughts are with those who lost their lives, limbs, livelihoods, loved ones. Our lives will never be the same again; for some even more so.

Looking back at today a year ago, I had forgotten that I had written this poem:

Today, we were shaken to the core
A big one first, then more and more
When I woke up to a drizzly day
I never thought it would end this way

Whirlpools of mud
Countless tears and blood
Sixty-five dead, 'at least', they said
The sadness and the sense of dread

Flights confined to the ground
And chaos reigns all around
The CBD a rubbly mess
The victims' souls may our Lord bless

And here, where I live, quiet and peace
Apart from Caltex, where the queues don't cease
The people panic buy food and gas
Not knowing how long they must make it last

And tonight when I lay me down to sleep
I'll hear the cries of those who weep
For all the souls who are now free
And our city, brought down on bended knee


Eternal rest grant to them O' Lord; and let perpetual light shine upon them. May they rest in peace.

========================================================

I learnt several things today.

1. That the Dragan effect is fun.
2. That you shouldn't 'Dragan' photos of others if you are not willing to first do it to yourself.
3. That 'Dragan' effect doesn't work as well for animals.
4. Less is more (I know I've over done this one!)

Apart from that, it's been a quietly busy day of thoughtfulness.

So, this is me; being thoughtful and looking very unattractive. And I'm okay with that. I have been working out for a while and today I fitted into my favourite size 9 jeans. That feels good.

I may change this photo as I play some more.

Byeeee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.