Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Brightening a rainy day

Yet another rainy day - grey and miserable. I donned full waterproofs and took the little waterproof camera into the garden. Lots of images of dripping flowers and leaves. Then I noticed that the damsons are nearly ripe.

This morning was our first photo class of the term and we all took our projects in to show. I was inspired by some wonderful images and a wide variety of techniques. I was pleased with my own images and had some good advice about how to improve one or two things too.

I decided to experiment with the damsons and use different blending modes to create a more arty look and dispel the greyness of the leaden skies. It will not be to everyone's taste but I had fun doing it.

(For the technically minded: apart from some selective sharpening and use of curves, I used an exclusion blending layer with a black mask, then brought back some of the damsons and associated branches and leaves.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.