An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Something old...something new...

Oh it is SO good to be able to get back online again! Three days without Blipping and withdrawal symptoms were really starting to kick in! :-o

Backblipped HERE and HERE and HERE. If you are really bored, feel free to check them out! :-))

So, after weeks of iertia on the house front....things are picking up pace!!

Operation Study Clear-Out commenced last Saturday, Building Warrant granted on Tuesday, dining room table getting delivered this Monday and the bedroom furniture for our bedroom and the main guest bedroom getting delivered on 22nd March. Need to get the finger out and phone the painter to get him organised to paint the bedrooms before the furniture goes in (missed the boat re. the dining room! Will just have to cover the table in sheets!! )

Seeing the new furniture arriving is so exciting as at last the place is really beginning to feel like it is actually ours! But whilst the arrival of the new furniture undoubtedly marks the beginning of a new chapter for us, for me what will truly make the house our home, is not all the shiny new things, but the old and familar things as they find their new positions within the house.

In particular the things that belonged to family members who are no longer with us and who are not here to share in the joy of us finally getting a home that meets all of Alan's needs and which will truly be our forever home.

My grandparent's writing desk and clock, my mum's brass mirror and crystal vases, (still to be blipped :-) Gran's candlesticks, David's mum's upright piano and THIS, David's dad's guitar.

All of these items (and a few more hand me downs) are what will make our new house ultimitely feel like home. :-)))

And so back to tonight's dinner. After yesterday's fiasco I have no idea what I am making tonight. I suspect a quick raid of the freezer is in order so I'm seeing apple pie, chips and brussel sprouts. Ah the don't call me Nigella for nothing you know! Actually the don't call me Nigella full stop!

BTW, for those of you asking on yesterday's blip if the curry was being eaten tonight instead, remind me NEVER to eat chicken if ever invited to your house for dinner! You would seriously cook and serve up chicken breasts that had been sitting uncooked at room temp for 7 hours?!!!! My stomach is contracting at the very thought! LOL! Nope, the whole lot went in the bin! :-(

Happy Thursday Peeps.....please bare with me whilst I try and catch up with your journals :-)) xx

*** STOP PRESS*** Look what the wonderful Scotchlass has made for me!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THANK YOU, YOU WONDERFUL WOMAN!

Woo hoo look out Matt....here I come!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :-))))) xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.