MonoMonday #68: Day of the Triffids


"Keep behind me. There's no sense in getting killed by a plant."
Day of the Triffids movie, 1962


These Kahikatea roots that snake along the forest floor in Dennistoun Bush have always reminded me of the Triffids; maybe it's because I'm a child of the seventies so to me the 1981 BBC TV series - with all its naff special effects was  the Triffids to me. These roots are the same - they just don't seem real, it's like they're part of a TV set.

When I read that today's challenge was the Day of the Triffids I thought that this would be easy, what with living surrounded by big trees with weird vines and roots.. Erm, no!  It seems that DollyKGray has picked an absolute doozy with the sci-fi theme. Here's hoping this one goes as well as last week's ghostly Twilight Zone one!

Thanks to those who commented on last night's star shot too on the shores of Lake Pukaki. It's great to know that you don't get tired of the stars :-)
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.