An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Back in Time...

Today is the third anniversary of our house move and I had to count using my fingers to convince myself that it really is three years, as the time has passed so quickly!   

Spookily, despite it being three years since we headed north, I had to go back south today as I haven't moved dentist and I was getting my filling that fell out last week, replaced.

I'd been looking forward to going back as I had planned to take my camera with me and have a wee tour of my old haunts, taking some updated photos for my own collection and the Community Facebook page.  Of course I had imagined all this would be happening in glorious sunshine and blue skies with just the right amount of fluffy clouds to make it all interesting.  What a joke!  It is wild out there!!!

I got soaked and blown to bits just going the 10 paces from my car to the dentist and the same when I came back out again.   I decided just to head straight back home but there was a brief respite in the rain, so I headed off on the five minute drive towards my childhood village and managed to get about 5 shots before the rain came on again.   So disappointing.

I've to go back to the dentist on 17th June for my full check up so fingers crossed it will be better weather by then.

In this shot I am looking up towards Barhill and the Antonine Wall .  If the photograph continued to the right, you would see my little village.   When I look at this scene all I see are childhood memories of my friends and I walking every inch of that landscape, picnics of jam sandwiches and custard creams in our little bags.


 The Antonine Wall was listed as an extension to the World Heritage Site "Frontiers of the Roman Empire" on 7 July 2008.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.