The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Beach life

Today was the day I chose to christen my new wetsuit. I've only ever borrowed one before, so this was an event. High tide was at about 12.30, so we got to the beach well before that, in order to secure a space. The beaches of North Cornwall get crowded quickly, because the surf is so good. It wasn't amazing today, however. CleanSteve doesn't like the cold, so I went in on my own and frolicked in the waves until my fingers started to get numb from holding the bodyboard! The wetsuit is a great help for the rest of me: perhaps I should get some neoprene gloves? I got out of the water and bumped into CleanSteve, who'd come looking for me, wanting to see some surf action. I went back in. There weren't any good waves.

We retreated to our beach blanket and lay grilling ourselves under the warm sun. Gradually the circulation returned to my fingers. The tide never got very high, but we decided to go back to the 'van to prevent ourselves from overcooking. Once back, though, I could not resist sitting out for a few hours while reading my book. It just felt so right, as if we were on holiday abroad.

Eventually we both roused ourselves to go back 'downtown' to a cafe, where I uploaded several more rabbit-hole back blips from my time in Scotland in the last week of July. We checked our emails and decided that we may go to Crackington Haven, further up the coast, tomorrow, to visit a friend from Stroud who has a chalet there. Crackington is another surf spot, so we'll take the gear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.