Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Holiday Woodpecker...

I had every intention of doing something for something for TinyTuesday but, as is often the case, my plans flew out the window ... literally.  Although red-bellied woodpeckers are common in our area, and have historically been nearly daily backyard birds for me, I haven't seen one at my feeders in several months.  Oh, I hear them in the woods, calling to each other and even see them flying overhead...but they've been conspicuously absent at the Bistro.  So, as I sat gazing out the window this morning, lamenting the steady rain, up flew this snazzy RB woodpecker, headed for one of the suet feeders.  

This was taken at ISO 1250 and through a double-pane window, so it won't stand up to close scrutiny, but I like that this particular shot as it really shows off the name-sake red belly.  In fact, this male is very vibrantly colored with more than a usual amount of red on his face too. One has to wonder if he's in Holiday-molt?  (Sorry, a little bird-humor...)  Another shot HERE

And if I'd submitted something for Tiny Tuesday, it would have been the shot in Extra...  This is a small cloth ornament I bought years ago on a trip to the UK.  Did a bit of spot color treatment on it, too, just for fun.

One more coat of pain to put on the downstairs powder room and it'll be done!  There is something rather satisfying about painting walls, don't you think?  

Three more sleeps...  And we finally have a firm plan for Christmas which involves spending the day with my "sister-from-another-mother", Kura.  Good thing Christmas is nearly here because at the rate my tree is dropping needles, it will be nothing but bare branches soon!  

Cheers, people. 


Breaking news!  This just in - the tireless team at BlipFuture have just given those of us outside the EU the ability to donate to Blips future!!  Click here to read the post!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.