Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Wings of wax

First of all, if you missed it yesterday,  the tireless team at BlipFuture have just given those of us outside the EU the ability to pledge donations to Blip's future!! You will need to register at this site, if you haven't already done so.  Then, it's a few simple steps to make a pledge.  For all the details, please read the BlipCentral post, HERE and then, please, get your credit/debit cards out and make a pledge!  


Now, for today's photo...a juvenile cedar waxwing, meaning that he doesn't yet have the "wax" tips on the ends of his wings.  Still, that doesn't prevent him from being a pretty cool bird to find in the yard.  


I went over to the park first thing this morning,  and when I pulled back into our driveway after my outing, I found a big (100+) mixed flock of robins, starlings and waxwings feasting in our grove of cedar trees.  Quick dash inside to switch cameras then back out to take a bunch of shots.  This one is my favorite, although it probably isn't technically my best of the day.  Another shot here, also showing some wing,  and a shot of two robins being furtive, HERE.

We awoke to a dense fog, which precipitated my early morning jaunt to the park.  There is something about fog that makes me want to do great things with my camera.  Unfortunately, my enthusiasm is greater than my skill in this case...but it's still lots of fun trying out different settings.  I posted one shot, here on Flickr.  If you have some pointers on what you'd do differently, I'd love to hear them!  

Two more sleeps...
Debbi

PS:  Special thanks for showering my two quarreling robins with so many hearts and stars!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.