Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

An early start

At last there the haze lifted and we had good weather for a morning shoot. This is probably the most photographed church in Sifnos; there are 367 in total. It is on a rocky outcrop beyond the village of Kastro.

It's a charming village and we have visited twice. It is almost like the Marie Celeste with occasional brief sightings of residents.

The birds were very busy this morning with lots of evidence of nest building going on in all sorts of crevices under eaves and around houses.

Later, we drove to the northernmost point of the island and the charming church of St George. There may be an extra from here in due course.

In the afternoon "disaster" struck. I was looking in a shop window in Apollonia and did not notice a piece of uneven pavement. Down I went like a ton of bricks and landed heavily onto my right hand. I knew straight away that this was more then a bruise. After a few minutes of gathering myself - no one around to help me up even - I tentatively examined the damage. I think I have cracked the fifth metacarpal bone. There are a few bruises too, but nothing serious. It could have been much worse and the usual first aid with lots of ice, rest and pain killers helped a lot.

I missed the late afternoon shoot, but managed half and hour in the village and went into the Orthodox church where a service was in progress. The congregation totalled seven. Two were woman at the back who chatted to each other. Whenever a candle burnt to half way down, one moved to extinguish it and put the remains in a special bin. I wonder if they recycle them.

The priests seem to have special training in speed chanting. I recognised Pie Jesu repeated many times at a rate of knots. Later Kyrie Eleison had the same treatment.

When the priest came among us with incense. the chatterers separated and joined in the genuflecting.

Our last dinner together was at Mamma Mia. Excellent food and good humoured company. I left when the grappa arrived and collapsed into bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.