Packard One-Twenty at the Wheel-Nuts Motor Show

Of course, dirty old engines and abominable fuel consumption are anathema to earthy folk. Perhaps that's why they're so enticing... perhaps it's simply the breath-taking beauty of these living machines.

Anyhow, thanks to a tip off from CleanSteve (thank you!) I climbed aboard my nice clean and fuel efficient motorcycle [ahem] and rode up to Stroud, to wander around the Wheel Nuts Classic Car Show. There were perhaps two hundred vehicles, from a 1904 Berliet (6500cc 40HP chain-driven) through American supertanker-sized limos that wouldn't fit up our road, to modern classics of the past twenty odd years. 

There was a decent haul too of motorcycles and incredibly be-lamped and be-mirrored scooters!  See the extra... however he goes around corners...!

I've a number of images to process and upload to Flickr, but that will wait for a while as I have preparations to complete for our Neighbourhood Plan community engagement event on Tuesday. Not to mention the Annual Parish Meeting the week after. Retirement... ha!

I particularly liked this Packard One-Twenty. The front of it is so totally gigantic. The driver surely can't see the road or anyone on it for a hundred yards ahead of him! Must be like driving a train, but without the assistance of the rails... Beautifully polished and cared for, too.

In the end, of course, the place was so busy I didn't manage to find CleanSteve at all! I did manage to say hello to Woodpeckers though. And next year I'll be back again - I think with a wide lens. Those American monsters... they need width!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.