Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Bog beans

Today I had to leave the Isles and head for the mainland.

hazelh and Mrhazelh came to early breakfast to see me off. We even did a selfie of ourselves with Richard, our wonderful host. He doesn't like social media so we can't show it to you. It captured a happy memory for us.

On my drive to the ferry I stopped  briefly to capture this image of bog beans. I have never seen them in flower before. The water was fairly still and created the effect of a textured background.

All was well. I had allowed plenty of time to shop for Harris tweed before the ferry.

Hardly anyone else was travelling - until suddenly I was in a queue of 20 at the northern end of road resurfacing works on the Stornoway to Tarbert road. There was a  20 mph restriction for miles and miles.

I made it in time but had to chose and  buy the tweed in less than 10 minutes. No pressure there!

The crossing was very calm. I had lunch at the Uig Hotel. (Expensive and not particuarly good.) The drive through Skye was slow because there are very long stretches of 40mph restrictions. The roads on the mainland were relatively quiet and I was glad to arrive at my B & B in Roy Bridge at about 1720.

I've been hear/here before and it is very comfortable. (First spelling wrong; I blame predictive text)

The extra is the receding view of the Outer Hebrides from the boat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.