ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Freesia.


When I got home from work last night I had a very productive first session with a chiropractor; what a wonderman! I had a bad back injury four years ago, where I cracked a vertebrae at the base of my spine falling onto wet sand. Since then I've had recurring back pain whenever I excersise, or if I trip, or if I lie down for too long. Not really normal for a 23-year-old, but after living with it for four years, you kind of get used to it... In fact, I was beginning to think it was normal, and that I was making a fuss about nothing. Apparently the chiropactor thinks not: he thinks I damaged the 'stabilising' muscles around my spine (especially on one side) in the fall, and because I wasn't offered physiotherapy or advised on recovery excersises at the time, the muscles have never repaired/built back up. As a result, I use different muscle groups than most people do, just to hold myself up. When I excersise, the muscles that I use aren't designed for heavy use on top of their normal job of supporting me, and I end up in pain for days afterwards. It is VERY nice to have a reason for my sore back, and even nicer that the chiropractor is very optimistic that he will be completely successful in re-training my body to use the right muscles, so given a bit of time I'll be right as rain!

After that good news, M and I went off to dinner with N and a few of her friends, before she leaves for Australia for a year (her flight is today). We had a great meal at Ask Italian and laughed a lot; I also tried to convince all the seven other people who were there to join Blip, especially N, who we have challenged to take a photo of a different attractive Australian man every day. I do hope she accepts the challenge! We had a few drinks at Revolution afterwards, as M, N and P reminiced about when they all worked there together years ago. An absolutely lovely night!

Today I woke up early: 6.00am: PING! Wide awake. I don't know why that happens sometimes. I decided to make the most of it and head into work for half seven, so I could leave early. All went swimmingly until about 11am... And then chaos descended. An absolute SWARM of paperwork rushed in, most of it complicated and scary-looking and I was so glad I had lunch with N to act as a break and let me breathe again. Walking back into the office felt like jumping into a pool of disorganisation, just take a deep breath and DO IT. Thank goodness I'd come in early so I could escape at 4.30!

M and I went suit-shopping for fancy-pants suits to match his fancy-pants new job title; very fun! A Markies rip-and-tip Chinese feast for tea and we were both happy bunnies.

Mum and Dad are coming through to Aberdeen tomorrow as Dad needs a new kilt and they've not been up in a while. Dad's birthday today, and I have promised to make another cake; I would like to make him something different but he is a real sucker for a pineapple-up-side-down cake, so that is what I'll do! I will make it tomorrow morning before work and it will be ready for their arrival. So excited to see them, plus M and I get to babysit wee Mollydog at night as the hotel won't have her. I am now attempting to catch up on Blip tonight too... I'm behind by eleven Blips (My favourites are here and here)! Such a busy day.

P.S. Loving my fun new lens; 50mm 1.8... More versatile than I'd imagined.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.