Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

That very famous window

I spent today becoming acquainted with the village (and some villagers) of Lacock. If you have watched any period drama on TV in the last few years, you will be familiar with the streets and houses here. Film crews still come regularly.  Downton Abbey, Pride and Prejudice and Harry Potter (yes) have all had scenes filmed in Lacock Village or the Abbey itself.

It is very pretty, although I think that cars should be banned!!

I spent ages in the Fox Talbot Museum learning about the father of photgraphy. The window in my blip is the one he photographed for the first ever printed photograph. Sadly the house is closed for Novemeber so I had to be satisfied with an outside view. You can just see through into the cloisters below.

The extra was taken in the beautiful grounds. Autumn is still hanging on here and I revelled in it.

This evening there was a new person staying and we were packed off to have dinner together at the local pub. It was interesting but not altogether comfortable. We have a lot in common, since we are both retired doctors. It would be fair to say that I know a lot more about him and his practice than he does about me.....  Then the conversation turned to politics and I'm afraid we have very different views, which made it a bit of a challenge.

Back at base, my laptop is working at a snail's pace since I installed Adobe CC 2017. It's painful but tomorrow I'm on day course at the Abbey so that should be fun.

PS I forgot to say that the exhibition Drawn to the Land by photographer, Sophie Gerard, is on at Lacock. It is about a number of female farmers and their relationship to the land and their animals. I loved it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.