Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

At last, the wifi is working

I've had a lot of trouble with with wifi in my old study over the last few months, despite moving onto Super-fast Broadband when it came to the village. I've tried extensions with ethernet, (2 types), but still had problems. Moving  into the next door room to make a larger study proved too much for the router. I had it positioned in a downstairs window to send its signal to the other part of our L shaped house, but it was no good.

Yesterday a new system arrived and I now have 3 disks stategically placed around the house. I also now have 5 bars of wifi showing on the computer. Hooray.

I'm not holding my breath, being cautious by nature, because I've read how the initial success can change in a few days.....

In other news, I coughed a lot through the night and decided I should not take my germs to a village funeral of a friend and neighbour, Margaret from across the road. She was a retired nurse and a stickler for how things should be done. Just when you thought you understood her, she would surprise you with remarkably liberal attitudes on some matters.

There was a good turnout and Margret (next door) has given us a good account. I would have liked to be there.

Hopefully I will sleep and wake fully recovered (or the cold might just take a normal course and last a bit longer).

PS I have no shares in BT and other makes of home systems are available.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.