Hockey Mum!

One of my worries about having the Little Misses in different schools was that things might clash and I've have to miss things like sports days and Christmas plays.
Today they both had hockey matches and my heart sank when I saw the second letter assuming they'd clash. But no, Miss L was 1-2pm and Miss E was 2-3pm. Woohoo!!!!
So I was a hockey mum this afternoon!
It was Miss L's first match and she's been giddy all week counting down the days. She thought it was hilarious that she was playing against Miss E's school and the class she'd had her taster days with!
This morning in the car she was really quiet and when I asked was she excited about the match she said in her tiny voice that she was worried that she didn't know what to do; worried that she wouldn't be able to do it properly; would get in trouble for not getting changed quickly enough and was just generally really worried. Bless her!!
I told her just to enjoy herself and have fun. 
And possibly try and get changed a bit quicker!!!
When I arrived in the afternoon she was giddy again which was lovely to see. And all self important lining up with the rest of her team!!
It turned out it wasn't a match but a sort of skills session. They were divided into groups and did a circuit of different activities. It was so sweet!
A quick cup of tea in the hall then it was time to hot foot it over to Miss E's school for her match. Before I left I had a quick chat with her PE teacher who thought it was funny we were both heading over for the second hockey match of the afternoon!
Year 3 and 4 at Miss E's school were divided into teams and played round robin matches against each other. Miss E appeared in giant trainers because apparently I'd forgotten hers (I hadn't !) She'd borrowed some from her - clearly giant - friend and looked like a clown!!!
She's not the best hockey player in the world but she obviously enjoyed herself and was a different child from the one who had a horrendous time in her first match last October. Still get cross when I think about that!!
When she wasn't involved with a match it was nice to see her playing with her friends. And I had a nice time chatting to my new friends. Two of them live just round the corner from our house which is great - for me and Miss E!!
After tea and biscuits in the hall it was time to head back to get Miss L and let sleepover chaos begin.
What a lovely afternoon watching my girls. Both happy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.