Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Walkers' Awards

We always have a Christmas celebration on the first Wednesday in December. I was delighted to be well enough to be there. I'd assembled a slideshow of photos of walkers, some with suitable captions. We ate an excellent buffet lunch at the Comrades Club; about 80 people attended, 40 of whom did the pre-lunch walk.

Geoff was master of ceremonies for this year's awards. The Golden Flipper award, for the wettest walk, went to Miranda. John R was awarded for the most uncomfortable clothing walk. His walks are often wet, and on one occasion it was belting down with rain and he had to squeeze into his wife's waterproof trousers. I hasten to add that she was not there (or in them) at the time!

I received a new award called the Thunderbird 4 award for a very boggy walk we did north of the Wall. You can see me in the extra (thanks Geoff) along with my new nickname.

My blip is of Maureen, who this year seems to have been able to repeatedly mislay or snap her false teeth. We have been more than amused by her mishaps and she took the award in good part.

Afterwards I took the train to Newcastle to hear Sophie Gerrard speak and show some of her work. You may remember that I saw her exhibition, Drawn to the Land, when I was in Lacock recently. I'm even more of a fan now that I have heard her talk about her work.

At the station I photographed a young man in the foyer, playing a piano provided by Rotary and a young man in a Santa hat enjoying a drink with friends. "I'm asking if I can photograph anyone wearing a Santa hat" I said, omitting to add that he was the first. He was happy to comply!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.