Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A surreal Christmas

I was up at 0630 to switch on the oven. Then back to bed for a few minutes. Then I heard the stair lift - only Mum ascending to check that I had woken and was on turkey duty!

The preparations went fairly smoothly. The turkey was ready early. I was roasting a glazed ham and checking every 10 minutes to baste it. Suddenly it charred over and looked less than pretty. (It tasted fine.)

Everyone arrived so there were 9 of us. Julie prepared a great selection of starters in the form of finger food. Geoff and Sandy were armed with champagne and bottles of wine. Brian had made the Christmas pudding and the other Marjorie had made an alternative Christmas pudding. Maureen brought brandy butter and brandy so I could light the pudding (just in case I didn't have any). There was more wine from  Thelma and the others. I think the main course was OK although I didn't feel very hungry by then!

We had crackers and present giving. We had charades. The other Marjorie proved to be highly entertaining and may have missed her vocation. She gave us a brief piano recital later - what talent.

Here you see the time when we donned masks. I used a wide angle lens. It's amazing how one of these transforms a face.

In the extras you see Brian dancing - not bad for an 84 year old - and the gatecrashing of the party by a woman with exceptionally long legs.

We had a great time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.