Happy Christmas!!

Backblip

A fabulous Christmas Day today!! Pretty perfect from beginning to end which made it very special!
The Little Misses were under strict instructions not to come up to us unless the time began with a seven.
I checked the time when they came bounding up: 07.00!!! They'd been up since 4am apparently and showed a lot more self control than Mr D and I used to show at their age - waking our mum up at 5am usually!!
Then there was a whirl of present opening. They tore their way through their pillowcases in record speed - and as usual Miss L disappeared inside hers to check she hadn't missed anything!
Then there was a couple of hours playing with new things - and strewing as much of it as possible all over the house - before Nana, Papa, Uncle D, Maisie, Elsie and River arrived.
Then there was a whirlwind of Bucks Fizz and mulled wine drinking, present opening, OCD tidying by my dad, snack eating, dog walking, beef searing, oven juggling, Carry On watching, chatting, Dobble playing, roller skating, perfume making and chocolate eating.
And that was all before dinner!!
Dinner was only half an hour late - an improvement on last year!! And we had serving dished for everything except the dauphinoise which stayed in its foil tray and the turkey gravy which went in a stylish pyrex jug (the beef gravy took pride of place in its Spode jug!!)
Dinner was delicious - we all overate massively and yet the food still looked like it had hardly been touched!! Leftovers for the next week I think!
After a sit down and a rest we went back to the table for pudding - delicious Toblerone mousse made by my mum and scrummy Christmas pudding spectacularly set alight by Mr K - along with the brandy in the jug and all the fumes between the jug and the pudding. I may have overdone the "warming" of the brandy!!  It blazed away for ages very dramatically - the Little Misses want to set fire to all our food from now on!!
Then there were more presents, more games, more tidying by my dad, drone flying (Miss E's main present which was a big hit) the first TV viewing - We're Going on a Bear Hunt which was always one of my favourite books to read to the Little Misses. I loved it. Too much mulled wine and Bucks Fizz probably contributed to the lump in my throat at the end!
At about 9pm the Little Misses tipped over into over-emotional irrationality and were bundled up to bed. They were asleep within seconds!!
My mum, dad and brother left shortly afterwards leaving Mr K and me to collapse onto the sofa, force down a few more chocolates, drink more mulled wine, search for the Andrews and watch EastEnders.
Then I had to be hoisted to my bed. 
What a beautiful day.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.