Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Zoe and Marj explore Gold Island

Gold Island is in the river North Tyne at Wark. It's a beautiful place when the bluebells are out. Today I took Zoe to see if there are any snowdrops.

She had not been here before and took great delight in exploring as much of the wood that covers the island as she could. You have to plodge over a narrow stretch of river to get onto the island. Here we are returning to the mainland. The water went over the tops of my boots and on some occasions you really need to wear wellies to go there.

I had a very slow start to the day. Still thinking a lot about Manchester by the Sea and the strong, subtle messages it conveyed.

Mum had fallen while I was out walking and was on the floor for 25 minutes before she could get up. Did she call for help? No, she didn't. Apart from bruises and grazes (and being very shaken) she is OK, but I've popped her into bed with an icepack on her hip while I cook the tea. Hopefully there will be no more falls today.

We need to catch up on Call the Midwife, so will probably do that tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.