Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Top dog

What a glorious day. It was cold overnight, so I did not believe the prediction of temperatures in the teens. Consequently I was too hot on my long walk today. (It really was teeshirt and shorts weather.)

I set out from the hamlet of West Hall, west of Gilsland, and checked the route I'll be walking in the festival. There is a proper recce with the rest of the team to come, but I like to walk a route quietly to see where any points of confusion about the directions may arise.

I met no other walkers and was accompanied by skylarks and lapwings. The views to the Lake District in the west were hazy due to the sun, but I could see snow on the tops.

I did meet quite a few people. First was Mr Wilkinson, accompanied by 4 sheepdogs. People bring them to him for training. The dogs were clearly besotted with him. He told me that you can't train them if they don't like you.

He knows my friend Harry, although it was his Dad who used to play bowls with him. He knew all sorts about Harry though.......!

At Rinion Hills, I stopped to check the route the farmer wants walkers to take. There were no footpath signs. This is where I found today's blip. The old sheepdog is retired, but is in charge of the farmyard and does not take kindly to "intruders". I kept my distance.

The farmer here knew Harry too and commented on his liking for a dram or two...........!

I was able to find a bridge that has previously eluded me, by choosing the clockwise route. That was good news.

The route is fine and the walk will be very pleasant. The only problem was the first stile. It is much too high because the land around it has been eroded by heavy rain. I tried to take a step onto it and heard a loud screech. Was that Aggie or me? I had to sit down until the pain receded. I did manage to get over but with difficulty. Aggie has responded by swelling up but it not very painful, so I'm hoping we'll be back to normal quickly.

Tonight we went to see our village theatre group perform Goodnight Mr Tom. They were brilliant, especially the man who played Tom.  There were several youngsters in the cast, all of whom have come through the youth theatre.

I won first prize in the raffle too.

PS: My lost 50mm lens has turned up at Vindolanda, so I'm off to collect it tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.