A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

A Sunday stroll.

With not a lot of time to go far today we set off for a stroll along Harden Beck through Goit Stock. We met three people we know and had a nice chat and on the way back called in at our son's for a cup of tea (needed after climbing Leech Lane)

The weather was warm and sunny at times and we were able to observe the seasonal changes at close quarters. Hyggelig!

This word from the Danish Hygge is to me things that make you happy, comfortable, warm inside. So from experiencing nature and sharing with good friends whilst walking or meeting out and about (and which we will be doing tonight when we have our first church curry night) these are all things that improve your quality of life. I have read my little book of Hygge and could say much more but the reason I bring it up is that I feel after 7 years of blipping that blipfoto is very Hyggelig. So good to share with you all.
Things familiar and places new.
I have lived at either side of Goit Stock for most of my * years. 40 years in this village since getting married and in the village at the other end until I went to college as a girl.
I will share with you some highlights of our walk. I wanted to go as I knew there would be Wood Anemones in flower alongside the beck and there were lots on both sides of the water. Crossing the beck over the bridge into the Caravan park (now park homes) we spotted two dippers. They were there for ages flying back and forth gathering moss from the rocks no doubt for their nest. We crossed the beck again to leave the park via Leech Lane and there was a Heron. (Extra) He was in no hurry to move and with my telephoto lens I took dozens of photos of him.

What riches in a short walk of probably no more than two miles in total from door to door. I've seen the Heron before in this valley and watched the dippers on the waterfalls further up but they are usually so fleeting that I have never had the chance to observe them so closely before. So even though they may not be the best of my photos today I think they are a bit special. Perfect for 7 years of blipping!

You are all a bit special too. Definitely Hyggelig.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.