From Barnes Castle To North Berwick Law

I was very weary after our partying last night, but had to get up much earlier than I would have liked to take TT to the airport.  We bundled BB in his pyjamas and dressing gown into the car and set off.  There was more traffic on the road than I thought there would be at that time on a Sunday morning, but it was quiet.  We dropped TT off, came home and didn’t know what to do with ourselves.  We had breakfast – BB had a huge breakfast which included a fried egg roll.  I just had a fried egg roll – which was just what I needed. 

We both pottered about, me doing a few chores, before we went for a walk to Barnes Castle.  It was a lovely morning, though still windy and poor BB was getting very fed up with the wind – and being tired didn’t help.  Anyway, unlike the last time (and first time) I visited the castle ruins, there were fabulous views all around.

We re-traced our steps and came home for lunch and then, because he had promised he would, BB did some cello practice.  We haven ‘t had much of that of late, as his teacher has been off sick for a  couple of weeks.

The highlight of BB's day was receiving a delivery of cakes and biscuits. Just as I was contemplating baking chocolate cakes, the door bell rang. It was a friend who had promised BB a cake after his fainting episode last week. He was delighted!

Later in the afternoon we went to Dirleton, intending to have a look around the castle, except I had forgotten my Historic Scotland membership, so I had a wander to the church instead and a look around the graveyard.  We came home via the supermarket, then in honour of TT being en route to China, we had a Chinese takeaway for tea.

We will both sleep well tonight.

Here’s a view over to North Berwick Law from Barnes Castle.  A different view of the Law from this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.