Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

My neck of the woods

First of all, I have to say, this is just my "current" neck of the woods. In a normal year, I would have been able to post something from my home city of Dubai, but I'm on holiday still, and have just managed to meet this challenge. (Just discovered it finishes today!)

So... when we met up with KarenC in early August, we set a date to meet up again. The day arrived, and so did Karen and Alan; they found us, all by themselves. Nice to show them the Lodge and the park, and we soon headed off to our first point of interest - the very picturesque village of Shere (it is also our nearest shopping area for essentials).

Shere, and other villages in the Surrey Hills have featured in a number of movies, so that was the main reason to visit. It is charming and Karen and Alan loved it. We moved on to Gomshall Mill, a pub built in the 1600's which still has it's wheel and the Tilling Bourne running through it. As it was lunch time, we ate there. It is really hard to get a picture which sums up this very interesting building as there are so many aspects to it.

We were supposed to head back to Silent Pool, Wonersh and Guildford Cathedral, but went to Denbies Wine Estate in Dorking instead. A great move, as I haven't been there for years, and it was super to see it on a bright, sunny day; plus the fact that Dorking is such a beautiful town to drive through.

Back in the car again, and we only had time left to take in the views from Newlands Corner. A very kind gentleman got a picture of the four of us for posterity! We had ice creams! I love the A25 and the countryside it passes through.

And then back briefly to open and finish a bottle of Prosecco before Karen and Alan had to say goodbye - all too soon.

It's been a very nice, relaxed, unstressed day. I'm afraid I needed a nap (it was the Prosecco). The evening passed. It always amazes me how hot it can get, and then when the sun disappears, it rapidly cools down!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.