Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Wednesday walk

What are they looking at?

If Julie had been with us, we might think they were looking for a walking pole that had accidentally escaped from her hand and into the river below. (Sorry Julie.......)
In a few weeks time, they might be watching salmon leaping. I've seen them here in past years.
A large and happy group of us walked from Allendale, ably led over moor and valley by Ann Potter. Here we are looking at a lovely waterfall on the River East Allen. (I can't remember it's name, so I hope that one of the group will help me out.)

We climber up to the two chimneys from the Allendale flues high on the moor top. These took the toxic fumes from the lead smelting up onto the moors to be released far away from habitation. The small children who were sent up the flues to collect silver deposits were not so lucky because they did breathe in fumes and some died.

The moor was relatively dry. I still managed to put one foot in a deep hole and fall flat, but the heather saved my fall.

Back in Allendale we visited Tim's exhibition. People were very complimentary about my photographs, which was lovely of them.

I'm planning an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.