Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A blipmeet in Saltburn

Viewpoint and Ann are on holiday near Danby this week and suggested a blipmeet in Saltburn by the Sea. Pixelfoto and her other half, Guy, came along too. Guy and Ann are not blippers, but they entered into the fun of the day as you can see from my blip. Amazingly they posed like this without the aid of any alcohol!

We met near the railway station. Saltburn is a town that was constructed around the railway. I lived here for nearly 10 years from 1981 onwards and I did drive past both the houses I lived in, just for old times sake. Saltburn holds happy and sad memories for me, but today, with the sun shining, it was easy to put the difficult feelings to one side.

After coffee and chat, we walked to the cliffs and down the steps (about 150) to the promenade and the beach. Despite the biting wind, we ventured onto the pier. (I'd arrived early and had already been on there, so I felt very virtuous.) The wind was certainly good enough to blow any cobwebs away.

We had a fish and chip lunch in a lovely fish restaurant with a view of the beach and sea. Dog walkers were out in force. The beach is open to dogs again after summer restrictions. Some brave surfers arrived, although we saw none of them managing to actually surf.

Wendy and I walked onto the beach where I photographed my extra.  It may be my best image of the day, but I have others I'm very pleased with too. Since the Documentary group has started a project called Coast, I've made a start.

Back here, the internet connection to the new study is awful and the boosters have stopped working. The new monitor shows all colours garish and abnormal and the downloaded software to calibrate it isn't working. Otherwise all is well. I'm off to walk Only Connect and will tackle everything else tomorrow!

Thanks Wendy for organising today. It was great fun.

Other versions of my main photo may be seen by clicking on the links at the start of my commentary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.