Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Wednesday Christmas Walk

Today is Wednesday and I went walking. This is what I usually do on Wednesdays, but in recent weeks I haven't been able to walk because Arth and Aggie have been too badly behaved. 

The Haltwhistle Rings Walkers always have their Christmas "do" on the first Wednesday of December. We have a joint walk for the Long and Intermediate Walkers and then the non walkers and the injured join us for a magnificent buffet at the Comrades' Club. I decided to give it a go, and I was fine and so were Arth and Aggie. Hooray! It was only 5 very easy miles but I was delighted.

We had lunch - about 89 of us - and then I gave our the awards. The most promising newcomer among the leaders, the leader of the wettest walk (receives the Golden Flipper), the navigationally challenged leader, the one who did not know the difference between juniper and gorse (botanically challenged) and so on. It's a lot of fun.

Perhaps next week I'll try a longer walk............

The other Marjorie was here when I came home. I'd brought a "doggie bag" which provided Mum's evening meal. Bowlby has a few bits of the ham so everyone is happy tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.