A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

A place in the sun.

A day of two halves. Eda had a good night and I was able to have a cuddle and play with her first thing to allow mummy and daddy a lie in.

There were bright spells and showers first thing but by the time we were ready for off it was raining and as we crossed the moor it was snowing!
We headed for Robin Hoods Bay and the rain was biblical.
We made it into a cafe for coffee and the proprietor was wondering if he had made a mistake opening for the season on Wednesday. We did see the sea but it was very grey. Very wet we returned up to the hotel at the top of the hill to have lunch and dry out. Of course by the time we left the sun was out but it was bitterly cold.

The house was toasty when we returned and I took advantage of the sun in the bay window to take some shots of Grace and Eda. The blip is the one I liked best despite the fact that neither of them are looking at the camera. There was a lovely shop in Robin Hoods Bay selling 'Ganseys'. You may spot that Grace is wearing one that I knit for myself many years ago. It has no seams and is still in excellent condition. I also made Eda's rustic gilet, not quite so technical!
One reason for doing this pose was to replicate one of me sat on my mother's knee. I've put a collage of the two as an extra and I think you will see that there is a resemblance though I think I might have been a bit older in the black and white shot taken by my dad.

In for the evening now and I'm in charge of supper once
Eda has gone to bed. We're having Boboti (Cape Malay - South African) and salad. The fire's lit so let it snow - not too much!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.