Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The use of English

The thaw was well underway by this morning. 

I drove to Hexham and visited Aldi and Tesco  (because Aldi did not have blueberries). The shelves seemed fairly well stocked and people were cheerful. I heard some telling tales about being snowed in until a helpful farmer came to clear the roads.

This afternoon I walked around the block. It's a walk from home, down through the village, along the Military Road to Chesters and then back uphill through Lincoln Hill. In the extra you will see that the lane to that hamlet was still blocked, but it was more than half way up before I saw the snow drifts. It was hard going, but I need the exercise.

The notice on the rubbish bin is new. You can see a couple of dog poo bags peeping out of the top. Am I just perverse, or could you read this notice with a different meaning from the one that was intended? (It pleased me anyway.)

The school children were being collected during my walk. One mother was carrying a school bag, a lunch bag, an anorak, hat, probably gloves and carrying a bicycle. She said that her son, who looked young enough for preschool, would not go unless she takes the bike. He never rides it, so she has to carry it. Later I met another mother/son duo. The mother was carrying all I described above, but instead of a bike she had wellies. I made some friendly comment about this, but she was not amused and told me her son had been playing. Whoops!

Quizzy Monday evening is about to begin.

Daisy lay on my legs on top of the duvet today and had a good wash. Progress.

PS The text reads:
The Parish Council kindly asks responsible dog owners to not deposit your dog waste in this bin. It creates an unpleasant odour for people waiting for the bus.
Visitors to the village are welcome to use the dog waste bin outside the village hall. Otherwise please take your waste home to put in your wheelie bin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.