Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Angy Ellis

The speaker at tonight's meeting of Hexham and District Photographic Society was Angy Ellis from the Durham Club.

She is full of enthusiasm for her photography and had us totally engaged all evening. Her main passions are jet skiing and cage fighting. (She trains with the fighters but does not fight herself.) We saw images from both pursuits. I can’t get my head around the fighting; it’s not for me.

There were all sorts of other images, including some very personal ones from her family and some dramatic ones on mental health. Angy likes to dress up models and then to manipulate the final image. Mine of her uses minor manipulation in comparison to hers. She likes to make the models eyes larger. I did it to her, but I didn't like the result. I thought that her scarf would be suitable if it snowed. The background image is from our village the other day.

Angy had the idea of standing in front of a green door so I could extract her from the photo and Graham Oliver rushed forward with a piece of white paper to reflect some light into her eyes!

Otherwise it's been a quiet day editing photos, playing with cats, feeding the birds, watching the Rebecca Martinnson murders on All4., and generally going slowly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.