Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mamacita

The squirrels haven't been around our feeders at all the entire winter, so it was a nice surprise to see this female show up, albeit briefly.  Mostly, I think, she came for a quick drink of water.  Most gray squirrels in our area give birth to their first of two broods in March, so I assume she has already given birth and is nursing.  I'll put some extra corn out in the woods...  And if you are wondering why we haven't had squirrels around the feeders, it's simply because last fall was a "mast" year for hickory nuts, providing a very, very bountiful harvest and keeping the squirrels in good supply.

I rented the Sigma 100-400 lens again (for the upcoming Panama Canal trip) and it arrived a day earlier than expected, so I mounted it on the D750 and took it out to the hide for a little while this afternoon.  I suspect I will eventually buy this lens at it really is a nice bit of glass and not particularly expensive.  I got a super deal from Lensrental.com on it, so didn't feel bad about renting for a couple of weeks.  

Spent some time looking through all the TinyTuesday offerings and have to say that I am, once again, going to be hard pressed to narrow down just 10 favorites.  But, as promised, tomorrow I shall announce my picks, so stay tuned.  

Wanted to also give a BIG thanks to Cailleach for giving us two wonderful, fun years of WildWeds.  Be sure to visit her blip today to see what she may have in store for us next...

'til tomorrow,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.